Valthos
New York, United StatesIndustry
Valthos develops AI-driven biothreat detection and response tools. CBRNE-relevant work is a primary business line according to its website.
What it does
Threats covered
Profile
Valthos is a New York biosecurity software company that uses AI to identify biological threats quickly and to design or adapt medical countermeasures in real time. It came out of stealth in October 2025 with a 30 million dollar seed round from OpenAI's Startup Fund, Lux Capital and Founders Fund, which Bloomberg, Decrypt and the company's own announcement reported.
More profile
The company says it is building a next-generation biodefense platform. The founding year was not stated in the sources read.
No contracts or customers were found.
Ownership
Privately held; venture-backed with a 30 million dollar seed round from OpenAI's Startup Fund, Lux Capital and Founders Fund (October 2025)
Parent: none identified
Sources (4)
- https://valthos.com/brief/intro
- https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/valthos-raises-30m-from-openai-lux-capital-founders-fund-to-build-next-generation-biodefense-302598583.html
- https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-10-24/openai-backs-a-new-venture-trying-to-thwart-ai-bio-attacks
- https://decrypt.co/345959/ai-biodefense-startup-valthos-launches-30-million-openai-backing
Not verified or not found
- Founding year: not stated.
- Customers and contracts: none found.
- Whether smallpox and Ebola are named target agents: not confirmed.
- Exact product capabilities: described only in general terms.
Questions
What does Valthos do?
Valthos develops AI-driven biothreat detection and response tools. CBRNE-relevant work is a primary business line according to its website.
Where is Valthos based?
HQ (as found): New York. HQ country: US.
Who owns Valthos?
Privately held; venture-backed with a 30 million dollar seed round from OpenAI's Startup Fund, Lux Capital and Founders Fund (October 2025). Parent: none identified
Profiles are compiled from public sources and sampled-checked, not fully audited. Last verified 17 October 2026. Report a correction